Healthy snack ideas

Standard

Image

Snacking is a very important part of healthy eating. Snacking between meals regulates my appetite. I divide my food intake in to 3 full meals and 3 snacks a day. I keep my meals under 250 cal. and snacks under 200 cal. each. It’s very important to watch what we snack on, because that’s where the extra, unnoticed calories are coming from. I try to think of my snacks as mini meals and keep a food log to track my calories. A banana with peanut butter or a cookie here and there, it all adds up at the end of the day. To avoid unhealthy snacking I prepare my snacks at home. Today I want to share some healthy snack ideas.

  1. Fat free Greek yogurt. Zero fat and up to 16g or protein!
  2. Fruit. Excellent source of fiber and vitamins.
  3. Vegetables like baby carrots, baby bell peppers…Also a great source of fiber and vitamins.
  4. Nuts like almonds, pistachios, walnuts… Provide tons of protein and fiber and heart-healthy fats. I prefer nuts mixed with berries.
  5. Granola bar. I choose bars that contain less sugar and fat and more protein.
  6. Cottage cheese with or without fruit. A cup of low-fat cottage cheese with pineapple is one of my favorite evening snacks.
  7. String cheese with or without fruit. Low fat cheese is a good source of protein.
  8. Hardboiled egg. Loaded with healthy nutrients.
  9. Turkey breast no salt added. I often make turkey breast rolls with cheese.
  10. Hummus. Great source of protein and vitamins. Easy to make, great variety of flavors.
  11. Brown rice cake with fresh almond butter. Great source of protein.
  12. Peanut butter stuffed apple. I choose fresh peanut butter no salt added. Cut an apple in half, take out the hard middle part and put half a teaspoon of peanut butter inside.
  13. Smoothie. Toss some frozen berries, a banana, fresh spinach, and fat-free milk into your blender for a vitamin and mineral packed drink you can sip on in the car for hydration and nutrients.

I use a Calorie Counter app to track my protein, carb and fat intake. Keeping a food log really opened up my eyes on what I was doing wrong and why I wasn’t losing weight. Checking out the nutrition value of every food I am about to eat helps me make healthier choices.

Out of curiosity, keep a food log for three days. Log in every bite and sip you take during a day, see how many calories your “just one cookie” or “favorite candy” cost you and more importantly how they contribute to your health. 

What is your favorite snack?

FitAli

Leave a Reply

