What do you know about eggs?

Standard

Every morning I wake up craving for scrambled eggs with tomato and onion. So while I was having my delicious breakfast today, I thought “what do I really know about eggs?”

Image

Eggs are one of the most versatile ingredients used in cooking. Some of the healthiest eggs to eat are eggs from ostrich and quail. Other popular choices are chicken, goose, duck eggs and caviar. The most commonly eaten eggs are chicken eggs.

Comes to mind a movie I watched once -“Runaway bride”, with Julia Roberts. There was a moment when Richard Gere told her “To prove that you know yourself well, tell me how you like your eggs?” Do you know how you prefer your eggs? Do you know how many ways to cook an egg there are? While you are thinking, here is a link to a “100 ways to cook an egg”: http://www.endlesssimmer.com/2009/04/16/100-ways-to-crack-an-egg/

Interesting fact: If a boiled egg is overcooked, a greenish ring sometimes appears around egg yolk, due to the iron and sulfur compounds in the egg. The green ring does not affect the egg’s taste, overcooking, however, harms the quality of the protein.

Of course everybody knows that an egg consists of egg white and egg yolk, but do you know which one has what nutrients and how healthy it is? Let’s see…

 

1 EGG WHITE

1 EGG YOLK

Calories

16

54

Total fat (g)

0

5

Saturated fat (g)

0

2

Cholesterol (mg)

0

210

Sodium (mg)

55

8

Carbs (g)

0

1

Fiber (g)

0

0

Sugars (g)

0

0

Protein (g)

4

3

Vitamin A (IU)

0

245

Vitamin B12 (mcg)

0

0.3

Vitamin D (IU)

0

18.2

Calcium (mg)

2.3

21.9

Folate (mcg)

1.3

24.8

Potassium (g)

53.8

18.5

Selenium (mcg)

6.6

9.5

Omega-3s (mg)

0

38.8

As we can see, even though egg yolk has all the fat and cholesterol, it also has all the vitamins, daily calcium and omega-3. My personal thought- one whole egg with one egg white is a prefect combination!

Enjoy your day and delicious recipes!

FitAli

Internets sources:

http://www.fitsugar.com/Egg-Whites-Healthier-Than-Egg-Yolks-364527

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egg_(food)

http://www.endlesssimmer.com/2009/04/16/100-ways-to-crack-an-egg/

5 responses »

  1. Yeah, I agree with what has been said. I eat 2 eggs every morning I boiled them then eat the white part only…. I do work out every day too, so… Thanks!

  2. I started following your advices and now instead of having 3 eggs after my workouts I only eat 1 egg yolk and only whites from the other eggs. I was always concerned about eating too much cholesterol and It seem to be a perfect way to reduce the cholesterol level in my body.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

